[Trans] JUNIEL, singer-songwriter from Korea, completes her 1st full album! (EMTG MUSIC Interview)

Interview

EMTG: One and a half year has passed since your Japan major debut, and your major 1st full album is finally completed!

JUNIEL: I was in Japan since before the major debut, doing indie activity such as street lives. I remember various memories and I have feeling that “I have worked hard up to here”. I’m very glad.

EMTG: How long time did it take you to complete this album?

JUNIEL: Not only single albums since (major) debut, there are songs that I wrote for this album, and also songs that I wrote before debut.. It seems like I took 2 or 3 years to make it. And this is why I’m so happy completing the album.

EMTG: The title “JUNI” is from your name, right?

JUNIEL: Yes, it’s my real name. I titled it so because I wish my name to be more known.

EMTG: The album includes a variety of different songs. Is there any theme throughout the album?

JUNIEL: Talking of theme, it’s “I want to lighten up everyone”. Lead song titled “Everything Is Alright” is a song that I wrote when I was tired. I wrote it with feeling that “I want to lighten up myself”.

EMTG: When did you write it?

JUNIEL: Because it was around my Korean debut… last May or June. I wrote it in Korea.

EMTG: Like the lyrics, did you write it with looking up at the night sky?

JUNIEL: Yes. I was looking up at the stars and saying “I love you” to myself with crying.

EMTG: “Owaranai Ame (Endless Rain)” is a very sad love song, describing complex feelings.

JUNIEL: When I was about 17 years old, I wrote the song in rainy season before summer, in Japan. You’ll feel gloomy when it rains, right? It rained so hard then, and I remembered a person who I had loved and felt sad, writing the song. I sang with feelings, thinking of the lyrics.

EMTG: “Tsuki (Moon)” is beautiful piano ballad.

JUNIEL: I wrote this in Japan, too. That was when I was on the way back home after one man live show. By chance I looked up at the sky, there was the moon. Somehow I felt like I saw the moon after a long period, although I liked the moon and watched everyday as a child. Because I was busy for preparing for one man live show, (looking at the moon) like “haaa” (sigh). (laugh)

EMTG: There is Korean lyrics meaning “feel nostalgic”.

JUNIEL: In the lyrics, I put the meaning that I feel nostalgic for my childhood. I tried thinking of singing in Japanese, but I thought this word (in Korean) suited the best and I can put my feeling well. That’s why I wrote in Korean.

EMTG: “Summer Vacation” is a cheerful summer song, just like the title.

JUNIEL: This is a song that I was inspired by anime “One Piece” to write. (laugh)

EMTG: Is it?! Absolutely, the lyrics make sense! (laugh) It’s a cheerful song, giving listeners a supportive push.

JUNIEL: I really like “One Piece” a lot. As I studying Japanese, I watched many anime. I liked it among them the most. I enjoyed writing the song, too. (laugh)

EMTG: “Lucid Dream” is an up-tempo number.

JUNIEL: Two years ago, around the same time as when I wrote “Tsuki (Moon)”? I first knew “lucid dream” then, searched about it and found it interesting. I wanted to have a lucid dream, too. So I wrote the song with imagination.

EMTG: And “My Sweet Revenge”. I was surprised. Rock side of JUNIEL appears on its sound, lyrics and vocal. (laugh)

JUNIEL: Everyoen says “I was surprised” at this song. (laugh) I like a song that dramatically changes. I wanted to write such songs for a long time. Many people tell that I am a “good girl, kind girl”, but I’m scary when I’m angry.(laugh)

EMTG: Yes, I was a little scared listening to it.(laugh)

JUNIEL: I have such aspect, too. (laugh)

EMTG: “Hello” is a uplifting song, bouncing rhythm is impressive.

JUNIEL: It’s a refreshing song. I wrote it in spring with happy feeling.

EMTG: The last track titled “Babo ~ Duet with Jung Yong Hwa (CNBLUE)” is a duet song with Yong Hwa, who is a guitarist and vocalist in CNBLUE. Did he request regarding the way you sing the song?

JUNIEL: Only a comment that “sing cutely as always”. Yong Hwa produced the song, too. As I sang a part, he said “Well done. Ok, let’s try once again!” about 100 times. (laugh)

EMTG: Hahaha! He’s strict! (laugh)

JUNIEL: Yes, he is.(laugh) So… I became a bit tired.(laugh) But I wanted him to say(*) “Well done. Once again” gently, so I could try hard. (*translator thinks it may be supposed to be “He said”, not “I wanted him to say”.)

EMTG: What do you think is the reason why he told you to sing again and again?

JUNIEL: I think he wanted me to sing not only cutely but with a sense that I love him. Because (I sang many times) especially the chorus part that I sing with him.

EMTG: What do you think you learned from the recording with Yong Hwa?

JUNIEL: Hmm…… It’s hard to explain in Japanese, though. He catches the details that others would let it pass like “should be fine”. I was impressed by Yong Hwa, who is my sunbae.

EMTG: By the way, your Japanese is getting quite good compared to when I interviewed you a year ago.

JUNIEL: No, I came to Japan after a while and I feel I can’t talk well… (laugh bitterly)

EMTG: Not at all. You sing almost all in Japanese (in the album). Each song has a different expression.

JUNIEL: I have valued emotions and lyrics in singing for a long time. I think I became able to sing with feelings both in Japanese and in Korean, without a big difference.

EMTG: Then, how do you want people to listen to your songs?

JUNIEL: I can’t say “be sure and listen”. But, I want to say “when you are tired, or if you look for a song that helps you, please listen to my song”. Surely you will find a song that makes you energetic.

[Interview and text by Rie Makino]

My Search Word

“JUNIEL”, myself.(laugh) Because I want to know how people see me. I read many comments from fans. Reading comments such as “I want you to sing this kind of songs” or “I want you to write this kind of songs”, I feel like to try writing such songs.

Video Message

(Japanese)
EMTG MUSICをご覧のみなさん、こんにちはJUNIELです。デビューアルバム「JUNI」をリリースして、私本当にうれしいです。なんか…3~4年前からずっと日本で、インディーズの活動のときも…そのときの思い出もちょっとずつ思い出すし、ここまでがんばってきたな、という気持ちがこもっていて、なんかすごくうれしいし。リード曲である「Everything Is Alright」は自分が本当に疲れた時に作って、力になった曲です。みなさんもこの曲を聴いて力になってほしいです。
私にとってライブというのは、やっぱりみなさんと合奏することじゃないかなとずっと思います。みなさんに私が歌いながら私の心とか感情を伝えて、その感情が伝わって、みなさんの拍手とかみなさんの表情を見て、みなさんの感情が私に伝わったとき完成するのがライブじゃないかなと思います。
はい、以上JUNIELでした!JUNIELのデビューアルバム「JUNI」、応援してください。ありがとうございます。

(English)
Hello, everyone visiting EMTG MUSIC. I’m JUNIEL. I’m really happy releasing my first full album “JUNI”. I remember the time when I was in Japan since 3 or 4 years ago and I had indie activity, too.. I have a feeling that “I have worked hard up to here.” Somehow I’m so glad. The lead song titled “Everything Is Alright” is a song that I wrote when I was really tired and that gave me energy. I hope you to listen to this song and get energy, too.
“Live” for me is what to play together. I tell my mind and emotions to you audience with singing, and the emotions reach you. Then, I see your claps and faces. When your emotions reach me, “Live” is completed. That’s it. Yes, this has been JUNIEL! Please support JUNIEL’s first full album “JUNI”. Thank you.

source: EMTG MUSIC
Translated by: yellow shoes

This entry was posted in interview, JUNI, trans. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

